Glossary of Terms





American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

Economic stimulus package enacted by the 111th
United States Congress in February 2009 that provided $4.7 billion to NTIA to establish BTOP.



The FCC categorizes an Internet service as "broadband" if it transmits at a speed of at least 4 megabits per second 


Broadband Technology Opportunities Program

BTOP will make grants available to deploy broadband infrastructure in unserved and underserved areas, enhance broadband capacity at public computer centers, and promote sustainable broadband projects. Together, both programs will advance the objectives of the Recovery Act by creating jobs and stimulating economic growth.


Community Anchor Institution

Community anchor institutions play a critical role in anchoring the community by contributing to economic development, job training, education, health care, public safety, and access to local, state and federal government services.

High-capacity broadband is the key infrastructure that community colleges, K-12 schools, colleges and universities, libraries, health clinics and hospitals, public safety, local governments and public media and public access organizations need to provide 21st century services to their communities


Federal Communications Commission

An independent agency of the United States government, created by Congressional statute.  The FCC works towards six goals in the areas of broadband, competition, the spectrum, the media, public safety and homeland security


Information Communication Technologies

Term that stresses the role of unified communications and the integration of telecommunications (telephone lines and wireless signals), computers as well as necessary enterprise software, middleware, storage, and audio-visual systems, which enable users to access, store, transmit, and manipulate information.


National Broadband Plan

Driven by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), was unveiled in 2010 to expand the availability and adoption of high-speed Internet access in America across households and across different sectors


National Institute of Standards and Technology

The National Institute of Standards and Technology is part of the Department of Commerce, and is the division that awarded the grant pursuant to  the ARRA and SBDD Program


The National Telecommunications and Information Administration

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act provided the Department of Commerce’s National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Rural Utilities Service (RUS) with $7.2 billion to expand access to broadband services in the United States. Of those funds, the Act provided $4.7 billion to NTIA to support the deployment of broadband infrastructure, enhance and expand public computer centers, encourage sustainable adoption of broadband service, and develop and maintain a nationwide public map of broadband service capability and availability. NTIA will make all grant awards by September 30, 2010.


Office of Information Technology

The New Jersey Office of Information Technology (OIT) is the central IT organization that oversees the technology infrastructure for the executive branch of State government. It is this infrastructure that enables the State to deliver vital services to New Jersey's citizens and businesses every day.


State Broadband Initiative

To facilitate the integration of broadband and information technology into state and local economies the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) launched the State Broadband Initiative (SBI) Program to gain better insight of broadband availability, adoption and usage within the State.


Small medium enterprises

Businesses up to 1,000 employees

SBDD Program

NTIA's State Broadband Data and Development Program

The SBDD program is to assist states in gathering data twice a year on the availability, speed, and location of broadband services, as well as the broadband services that community institutions, such as schools, libraries and hospitals, use.